January 29, 2008

  • bangs

    After contemplaing it long and hard…. I have decided that I like my peripheral vision better than my bangs.

    They’re cute, sure. But how people function all day with half of their vision blocked off by the “style” is beyond me. I almost ran into someone the other day. He was right there next to me… but I had no idea. Maybe I should just bring back the bangs form the old days… you know the ones, with the one big curl where it looked like you should still have the curling iron attached to your head. Yes. Those were ok; at least they stayed out of the way.

    Alright… enough of that. I have two midterms tomorrow! Gotta go study. :)

January 27, 2008

  • bad dating video profiles

    I hate YouTube right now for taking that time away from my life… but I just watched some of the most hilarious dating profile vidoes ever. Yahoo had an article about guys and chivalry (does it make them seem creepy?)… and for whatever reason I decided to read it, which then brought me on to read some other random articles for guys from esquire about rules of dating and being a gentleman (lol… I seriously feel bad for them sometimes with all of those rules)… awesome stuff though. But that subsequently brought me to a link for the worst online dating video profiles, which I could not resist to click on. THAT of course preceded my adventures through more vidoes (the ones that come up after you watch the one and make you waste even more of your time). And let me just say… although I have always known it, this has further solidified my thoughts of what an interesting world it is out there. People are INTERESTING, to say the VERY least! Oh, goodness. I am still laughing… just a bit. My favorite was the one of the guy that gets all flustered and loses his train of thought as he talks about himself and goes on to say how everyone he knows is married, and doesn’t he deserve love… etc, etc and then falls out of his chair. Quality entertainment is what I call that.

January 23, 2008

  • TransAmerican Trail

    I’ve decided to run across America. Yep.. starting today, I’m going to go from Yorktown, Virginia to Florence, Oregon. :)

    It’s actually really cool… this Ph.D. guy named Paul Williams at the Lawrence Berkely Lab created a virtual trail across America. 4063.0 miles total, it is part of a long-term research study on exercise and lifestyle. In the daily walking/running/cycling log, you can enter how far you go each day and it will show you a picture of each point along your trail. If you know other people signed up, you can team up and race across America.

    Now, who knows how long I will actually stick with updating my running log, but since I am running 5 days a week now anyway, I figured I would give it a shot for a while.

    My current location: Yorktown, Virginia, 11.48 miles from Williamsburg!

January 21, 2008

  • my latest crochet adventure

    In the past, my knitting and crochet projects have been fun. Sure, I’ve made a few blankets, plenty of scarves and hats, a couple of purses, a dog sweater, some slippers, dish rags, and one baby bib, among other things; but last night I just finished my most exciting project yet! I can’t say what it is exactly because it is a gift for an unnamed someone… but I am very excited about it. Just wanted to put that out there. yay.

January 10, 2008

  • tale of the forgotten burrito

    On Sunday I believe it was (I say ‘I believe’ because, as you will soon see, I recently lost my mind so I can’t be too sure), Z’s sister was awesome enough to pick us up a couple of chipotle burritos on her way over because she was picking up some soup that Z had made. So anyway, as usual, I ate half of mine, and wrapped up the rest to enjoy at a later time.

    Tuesday rolls around… at least I THINK it was Tuesday… and I get hungry (possibly in the afternoon, possibly later… the details are fuzzy). So, craving some delicious two-day old beans and rice, I popped the rectangular blob of a burrito into the microwave for a couple of minutes.

    …at this point, apparently some crazy distraction pulls me away from the microwave (possibly some other delicious food item catches my eye?)

    So now our story brings us to this evening (Thursday). I get home from work, have a little snack and start doing a few things in my room. Z comes by and asks, “did you try to eat your burrito yesterday?”. I think for a second. Yesterday…yesterday… that was Wednesday; no, I was at school all day. Hmmm… then it clicks! MY BURRITO! Oh my goodness… MY BURRITO!!! Oh man, that poor little guy. I guess Z found him in there sometime yesterday afternoon all shriveled and sad.

    So that’s my story. I completely forgot about my burrito. I warmed him up and forgot him. The worst part is, for the life of me, I cannot remember what I actually did end up eating that day.

January 9, 2008

  • blogging

    So I was just reading a post from some person on the front page. You see, hardcore xanga people (I know there are plenty out there) probably hate people like me; I occasionally read the posts that are put on the front page… but other than that I am not in any way shape or form involved in this online community that has so wonderfully been created for people to share their stories and their lives. Personally, I found this thing through a friend (quite a few years ago!) but he stopped posting shortly after I joined and since I don’t think anyone I know is actually on here. I just enjoy writing things down every now and then when they come to mind, and keeping a diary has many times in the past proven unsuccessful for me (as can be seen by the many diaries I have that only have a few pages filled). So, I joined the technological age and have been here since. But, back to my point, although it is occasionally interesting to peer into some random person’s thoughts, I really don’t have the time to keep up with their postings. So anyway, this girl was talking about reading blogs and subscribing to them when they are interesting and the whole moral dilemma about unsubscribing when the person is no longer interesting… all that jazz. It made me look at my recent posts; I must say…. they aren’t particularly interesting or insightful (wow, and I just used the word ‘interesting’ three times in the last two sentences…I guess my word coach hasn’t kicked in yet. ha). I also found two spelling errors (very unfortunate). So ultimately, according to those unspoken standards, I seem to fit very well into a ”dud” category of blogging. But, I am here to say… that’s just too bad. I shall continue on unscathed. Somehow, I will survive. And you will too, whether you continue to read this or not. And hey… just for kicks… here is a generic quote with no explanation to finish this off: “Tartlets…tartlets…tartlets” (OK, so its not generic… but if you know what its from then I’m sure you will enjoy it).

December 29, 2007

  • i blame the docks

    So I decided to get a few days of work in since I am home for christmas. Unfortunately, it instead became a wake up call as to how incredibly weak I have become compared to three or four years ago. I know I am not old, but this definitely makes me feel that way. Old and inactive. Three days of work… and now my body is swolen in very strange places. I put my shirt on today and my chest was popping out of it a little more than usual… but not in a good way. Only on one side too. I have never seen anything like it. My mom felt it yesterday and thought I had the ice pack on it… but that was just me! :( I was supposed to go back to work on monday, but I think I may still be recovering.

December 22, 2007

December 17, 2007

  • now in training

    So finals are over. No more school to worry about… except that they completely re-did the website for school. It’s all new and fancy-like. Check it out!

    On Saturday, I went to my first (orientation) meeting for the Rockin’ ‘N’ Runnin’ Marathon Training Program! I decided this is the year. I am finally going to do it.. I’m going to run a marathon! I started thinking about it a few weeks ago when I was thinking about new year’s resolutions and all that. But instead of the usual ‘I’m going to stop biting my nails’ or ‘I’m going to stop procrastinating’… I decided to do something that seems a little more attainable! lol

    So, I was looking to do a half-marathon… looking for what dates I might need to train for… and then I ran across this program! They actually do have a half-marathon training program as well, but I didn’t know that until after I had already signed up for the whole marathon program! :) so, I figured… with a coach and weekly meetings that will force me to keep up with the program… this is probably the best chance I will ever have to actually go through with this dream of mine. So on Saturday they gave us our shirts, training schedules and shoe tags (just in case I pass out somewhere and they need to know my allergies, blood type and an emergency contact)… my training schedule tells me exactly what I should be doing every day from January through June! I am so excited. Anyway, so yes, I WILL be running in the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon on June 1st here in San Diego! Because…well, why not?! :)